Summer ripened sweetness

My parents have the sweetest neighbor.  She is much older (think 80+) and I admire her so much for her independence and grace.   I hope I am like her in 60 years.

Every summer she brings them fruit from all of the trips she goes on, which is so sweet of her and so scrumptious for me.  I recently got to benefit from the fresh, sweet figs she brought back to NC.

Bounty

sweetness

sweetness

Figs aren’t usually my summer fruit of choice, but these were perfect.  What is your favorite sweet treat for summer?

2 responses to this post.

  1. i am much better, thank you 🙂

    i don’t think i’ve ever tried a fresh fig. i’ve had in a salad once or twice but with dressing and other stuff, i cant’ really remember what it tastes like. that is so sweet of your parent’s neighbor. she sounds like a doll.

    Reply

  2. God, I love old people!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

