comfort

With the beginning of fall, I feel an increased desire for foods that I consider comfort foods.  Warm, heavy, richness… I think these are the main characteristics of the foods I consider comfort foods, but it can be difficult to nail down the little details and specifics of what makes comfort food what it is.   I think when you see it, you just know.

One of my favorite of these treats are stuffed bell peppers… they are warm, with a bit of spice, they make great leftovers and they are easy to prepare (ah ha! more characteristics!).  The recipe I use is sort of a mashup of recipes I have seen friends and family use over the years.

-Saute one chopped onion and one minced garlic in olive oil

-Make 2 cups of rice (cooked) as you do this

-Add ground beef (about a pound) to onion and garlic and brown

-Deseed your bell peppers, I use cut mine in half, so I can put more stuffing in them, for easier deseeding and because this is a better portion size for me

-Blanch bell peppers

-When beef is browned, add spaghetti sauce (I use about 3/4 jar) and let simmer

-Mix in rice with beef and sauce

-Arrange peppers on baking sheet and stuff with mixture

-And, most importantly, top with lots of CHEESE! I used a Colby-Jack blend this time

Stuff those peppers!

Stuff those peppers!

-Cover in foil and bake in oven at 350 for 20 mins

-Remove foil and let back 10 more minutes

….   Voila!

hot, delicious peppers for all!

hot, delicious peppers for all!

5 responses to this post.

  1. I’m all over comfort food! Just had pot roast and mashed pots last night. : )

    Reply

  2. Yum! This is such a great recipe for fall. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  3. Posted by anotherfishinthesea on October 2, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    i made some dank food last night and you missed it. don’t worry, i took pictures.

    Reply

  4. Simple recipe, I will have to cook this soon.

    >>> Rebecca Rose

    Reply

  5. […] who has been reading my blog for awhile knows that I love to cook!! I delight in making delicious dinners and trying out new recipes… however, I am limited to cooking and I am afraid I have […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

