oh the majesty!

This weekend in the mountain was everything I hoped for and more!!  There were 7 girls total on the trip and we had an amazing time.  Sadly, due to frost, many of the leaves had fallen but the mountains were still gorgeous, the food was delicious, the drinks were plentiful and the company put me in wonderful spirits.
Friday night we arrived to C’s mountain house (near Grandfather Mountain, for anyone from around here) about 7.  We had a yummy pasta with sundried tomatoes and roasted red peppers for dinner, which I made ahead of time so we wouldn’t have to cook after the drive.  (I’ll share the recipe sometime soon, because it is ridiculously easy to make and sooooo good.)  From there, a variety of wines were in order.

Saturday we got up and had pumpkin bread and blueberry muffins, then set off for Blowing Rock (a cute, tiny tourist town), where we picked up some wine and cheese at the local wine and cheese store. OOOH maaagical! (I am singing that by the way, so you have to imagine the word magical being sung to appreciate this.)

Next up was a little drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway, considering it was supposed to rain, the day turned out gorgeous.  Up in the mountains the weather changes so quickly, so it was cloudy and cool one minute and then sunny and hot twenty minutes later.  Thank god for layers!

Me at one of the scenic overlooks we stopped out.

Me at one of the scenic overlooks we stopped at... definitely windy at this point. Also I left my shoes in my car at home. Bad move, fishie. Especially considering hiking.

We went from there and did a little hike to a place called Beacon Point, which is about a 1/2 mile but takes you to some gorgeous views.  We all shared some wine and chocolate up there and really just laid on the rocks in the sun and talked for about 2 hours.  It was SO SO nice to be able to spend this time with my friends.  I know I said earlier this week how important girlfriends are, but it is so true.

Picture 612

The view was still incredible even though the leaves had already started to fall off because of frost.

While we were up there the clouds started to roll in.  It was really cool to be there in the middle of a cloud, although when we drove back to the house and stopped at the grocery store it was kind of creepy.  Small sleepy town disappears into THE MIST and bad things happen kind of creepy.  Luckily, I was able to control my fear. teehee.  I am scared of many things by the way, especially scary movies, spiders and serial killers.

Picture 617

The clouds start to roll in.

We topped off Saturday with a crockpot of vegetarian chili we had cooked all day (So delicious… I’ll have to share it with you too!), more wine, board games and watching the movie The Blob.  (With Jonny Drama!?!)

We slept late Sunday and then hit the outlets on the way home.  I got some fun treats from BR that I will have to share soon.  Also, when I got home, the trees at home are in full fall array so at least I got to enjoy the leaves here.

A

A tree in my neighborhood, hooray!

Hope everyone is having a great week so far!

4 responses to this post.

  1. What gorgeous pictures. It sounds like an amazing time. What I wouldn’t do for a vacay right now. Sigh.

    Reply

  2. girlfriends are so important…and sometimes we forget that until we’re back together again having fun….

    what a great trip !

    Reply

  3. […] workweek just seem more…. do-able?  I am heading to the mountains with girlfriends for our annual fall trip and I am so excited!! I ended up missing out on seeing my friends on Halloween because of the sick […]

    Reply

  4. […] my parents and then tomorrow heading further west to the mountains.  I’ll be spending for my annual mountain weekend with girlfriends outside of Blowing Rock, NC and couldn’t be more excited.  If I don’t […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

