yum yum gimme some

One of my favorite recipes is what J and I like to call simply “Indian chicken”.  In fact, it is a slightly changed version of an old Bon Appetit recipe entitled Chicken with Lemon and Spices.  Way less exciting.  Actually, neither are very exciting but who cares, we are right.  Right?

This recipe is great because its super easy to make, fun and colorful and most importantly, its delicious.  I think its also a nice change from a lot of the other foods I make which is a super duper bonus.

First up is the marinade, combine a 1/2 cup of lemon juice and a teaspoon of turmeric then cut the chicken into inch size bites and let marinate for about an hour.

Next, chop a large onion which you are going to saute in vegetable oil, along with a tablespoon of fresh minced ginger and a 1/2 teaspoon of cumin seeds.  Unfortunately, I am lazy and did not feel like going to the store for fresh ginger, so we were stuck with dried.  Still yummy.

Picture 664

Chop Chop Choparooo!

Saute that bundle of deliciousness for about 5 minutes and then add the chicken and marinade, which should turn a brilliant yellow from the turmeric.  Saute for another 5 minutes.

Picture 666

Does anyone else love the smell of onions simmering as much as me? YUMM!

Then to complete the savory blend, add a can of diced tomatoes in juice, 1 teaspoon of chili powder, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of paprika.  It is so nice to get so many flavors from spices because it keeps meals healthy and delicious!

Picture 673

Aren't the contrasting colors so lovely!

After that, cover the pan and let cook for 8 minutes, then uncover and let cook for 7, to simmer down some of the juices.  Then remove from heat, add one tablespoon of sour cream, mix well and serve over rice.  (I prefer basmati.) Delish!

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend and have had a lovely Monday as well!  Does anyone else have Wednesday off, because I do and it is making my week so much less intimidating!

4 responses to this post.

  1. hell YES this sounds and looks YUMMY! i am going to make it! thank you! PRINTING!!!!!

    Reply

  2. LOVE indian and that looks pretty indian…so the name is perfect.

    and i can’t believe i’m about to say this, but i just might make that. it sounds easy! thanks darling!

    Reply

  3. I think I might actually, GASP, cook and try to make this!! It looks delicious!

    Reply

  4. […] who has been reading my blog for awhile knows that I love to cook!! I delight in making delicious dinners and trying out new recipes… however, I am limited to cooking and I am afraid I have not […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

