wedding wednesday – do the cakewalk!

So we went and tasted some cakes today and for a girl who doesn’t even like cakes, dear lord, they were divine.

In general, I prefer salty over sweet and when I do have dessert I like chocolatey things or perhaps creme brulee… cake though? Nevah.

Until today.  We tried several samples, including lemon with strawberry filling, amaretto with raspberry filling, hummingbird cake, ginger cake and a brown sugar filling.  My mouth is watering again.  I had originally though we might have a small cake and desserts, but this baker we went to made such delicious treats that I am seriously reconsidering that plan.

What do you prefer for a wedding? The traditional cake or a non-traditional sweet treat? (I have seen a candy bar, an ice cream truck and homemade brownies – all of which entice me!)

Hope you are all having a wonderful week – I am headed to Lake Norman with friends tomorrow morning to ring in the New Year, so I will see you in 2010 and hope you all have a wonderful New Year’s celebration!

6 responses to this post.

  1. since i don’t eat or like cake, i prefer the sweet treat but then i’m picky with that. in a perfect wedding, there would be cheese and fruit for dessert.

    Reply

  2. I’m a fan of picking different options. People love options and not everyone likes plain cake! So glad you enjoyed your tasting!!

    Reply

  3. Oh wow – this post made me drool a little! When I get married, I’d love to have three or four different flavors of cupcakes available for people to pick and choose which flavor they’d like. And maybe mini cheesecakes? I have such a sweet tooth!

    Reply

  4. Wedding cake is one of my favorite things in the whole world! And all of these flavors sound delicious!!!

    Reply

  5. Oh the cake tasting…I tasted SO MUCH cake that I was VERY close to being sick. Nonetheless, I prefer the traditional route of cake, but I think it’s always nice to have a second option for dessert too. It’s a nice treat that guests don’t usually expect. I’m loving those dessert tables now too! Pretty and tasty…can’t get any better than that!

    Reply

  6. this post makes me want to go home and snuggle!

    xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

