yummers

One of my favorite quick and easy recipes is for a pasta salad with orzo, chicken and lots of veggies.  If you are vegetarian, I think it would be just as delicious without the chicken, so give it a whirl!

Start by preparing your orzo (I make about half of the box) and sauteeing your chicken.  (I use kitchen shears and cut tenderloins into inch pieces – so this is a cheapie meal to make too!)  While these are cooking, dice one red bell pepper and 3 green onions.  You’ll also need to prepare snow peas, I use frozen ones and make half the bag, following the directions on the bag.

Veggie veggie veggie raw!

After everything is chopped and cooked, combine the orzo, chicken, peppers, onions, snow peas and half a can of water chestnuts (crunchy!) in a large bowl.

To create a sauce for the whole thing, mix in 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil, 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, 1 tablespoon of rice wine vinegar and 2 teaspoons of hoisin sauce.  (You can adjust these to your personal taste preferences.)  Mix well and refrigerate.

Serve cold and stir in about 1/4 cup of slivered almonds before serving (more crunch!!)  I sort of forgot to take another picture when I took this out of the refrigerator… I was excited to eat it!! Let me know if you make this how it goes!  Also, since this is meant to be served cold leftovers are great!!

**My own adaptation of a Paula Deen recipe on foodnetwork.com

Ps. Happy one year anniversary to Kristin and Megan at Bonbon Rose!! Check out their amazing week of giveaways!

3 responses to this post.

  1. I’m a veggie! I may have to try!

    Reply

  2. that looks both tasty and healthy. i second that yummers.

    Reply

  3. that sounds delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

