winter wonderland

The winter weather is giving me a bit of cabin fever, I basically have been trapped inside since Friday evening, because NC just isn’t equipped for this much snow.  I did have a fun outdoor adventure with my mom and sister on Sunday though and we definitely enjoyed the frosting.  I have to admit, I am ready for school to start back though… I don’t want to lose any more summer vacation!

Our backyard was a winter wonderland

My sister made an adorable miniature snowman

And I just had to put this picture of my mom sledding up, because she is so cute and it shows how much fun we had 🙂

We missed our other sister, S!! She was stuck in Raleigh 😦

On an unrelated note, I also want to mention that I watched a documentary on the Greensboro Four yesterday, to commemorate the anniversary of the Greensboro sit-ins that were such a huge part of the Civil Rights movement.  The sit-ins in Greensboro lead to this form of non-violent resistance spreading through the South to protest the unequal treatment of blacks and whites.  These students were incredibly brave to stand up for their rights and we are all lucky to live in a more equal society because of them. The International Civil Rights Center and Museum opened yesterday at the Woolworth’s that was the site of the sit-in.  If you’re ever in Greensboro, NC, check it out!

Happy Tuesday and hopefully the rest of you are leading more productive weeks than I am so far!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by hannah on February 2, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    oh mah goodness! my hair is out of control!!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sarah on February 2, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    i love mom! awesome picture

    Reply

  3. look at all that snow! i am totally uncoordinated, so skiing is out of the question! but i’d love to hit that snow on a toboggan or an inner tube! FUN!!!

    Reply

  4. you would love the snow here….and rarely a snow day do we have, because we do have the equipment to handle what mother nature throw at us….which makes kids very pouty 😦

    I’m so glad to see you playing !!!

    Reply

  5. Mini snowmen are the best – they’re just so darn cute!

    Reply

  6. all that snow makes me want to sing “walking in a winter wonderland…”

    yes it does!

    Reply

  7. Fun!!! Look at all that snow!

    Reply

  8. I think you all may have gotten more snow that us!

    Reply

  9. I hope you’re fully stocked with snacks and cocktails!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

