Long time, no post

So I used to post regularly about dishes I had made – most of them simple, but delicious meals.  I looked back over my blog and realized this was something I wanted to get back in the habit of doing.  What are your thoughts, anyone who read any of my old food posts – are they worth doing or is other stuff better?

In the mean time here is a quick foodie post.

One of my favorite slightly weird but delicious foods is ostrich.  Ostrich meat is super lean (more so than turkey) but tastes like delicious beef.  We marinate it in a balsamic vinaigrette and then grill it so that it is very rare, then slice it and chow down!!

Ostrich grilling on our awesome new All Clad grill we received as a wedding gift (courtesy of J's awesome brother)

Ostrich with a scrumptious couscous salad!

Anyways, all that being said, if you haven’t tried ostrich, I would highly recommend it!! I’ve been to a few restaurants that serve it and one place in DC that has ostrich burgers, but I am sure those of you in big cities can find it – or may have already!  Anyone else have any favorite unusual food tips? 🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. my college town had a popular ostrich place. i could never get myself to try it…not sure why. but i heard it was good.

    Reply

  2. I like food posts – especially because I’m worthless in the kitchen and I just share the ones I like the the bf and tell him to make whatever it is! Haha I don’t really eat meat though… so I’ve never had ostrich!

    Reply

  3. bring on the recipes! and have me over for ostrich burgers! i would love to try them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

