food trickery

Spaghetti squash is great because you can feel like you are having a hearty Italian meal and feel like you are being healthy all at once.  MIRACLE! This is what I like to refer to as food trickery.  I have a serious problem with loving junk food and trying to balance this desire for decadence with the slob-iness I feel when I eat toooooo much junk.  I really can feel a difference in my energy levels based on the food I’ve been eating, does anyone else feel this way?  Is it just my imagination?  (running away with me.)

This week J and I tried out a new spaghetti squash recipe and it was super delicious.  With yummy sauteed onions, garlics and tomatoes and feta cheese to add a Mediterranean flair, the dish was a perfect mid-week treat.  And the leftovers tasted like a deli-worthy pasta (squash?) salad.   (Sidenote:  I did not add the olives included in the recipe, because I am not an olive fan, but if you like them I am sure they would add even more to that Med taste!)

We baked our squash for 45 minutes face down, then flipped it and baked it for 10 more face up

All the important ingredients for mixing (except the most important one - feta!!)

from whence comes the name. or something. and also that is j's arm not mine. I am not THAT hairy.

The final product! Yum!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by patina on November 21, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Oh my gosh, this looks delicious!! I have to try it. Thanks for the recipe,….it looks simple enough even for me.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Hannah on November 22, 2010 at 12:47 am

    we had that the other day too! soooooo good!

    Reply

  3. i can’t do squash, but keep the recipes coming! i could stand to broaden my horizons, but i just can’t get around squash and zucchini. not yet at least! but i used to LOATHE asparagus, and this year i fell in love with it! lol

    Reply

  4. I’ve NEVER cooked Spaghetti squash before, but that looks so yummy I’ve gotta try it! Thanks for the inspiration.

    Leaving the House in THIS?!?!

    Reply

  5. […] reading my blog for awhile knows that I love to cook!! I delight in making delicious dinners and trying out new recipes… however, I am limited to cooking and I am afraid I have not expanded my horizons […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

