keeping afloat

I have been feeling very unmotivated for the last week or so and my activities around bloggyland have certainly reflected that lack of motivation.  I think it is the combination of the cold, missing the family dog and a super rough time at work – between those things, life is sucking the life out of me. (ha!)  Since Christmas, I’ve had 5 new students added my caseload at work (taking it from 15 to 20 students), which may not seem like that much, but trust me it is a BIG difference.  I need to put on my Wonderwoman boots or something to help me get through this.

Despite all my complaining though, there are some things that are going quite well.  I made several New Year’s resolutions for the first time ever in 2011 and so far I’ve been sticking to them, so I am feeling good about that.  🙂  AND I am more than halfway through the school year, so summer… I have my sights set on you.

One of the resolutions I made this year was to incorporate more fish into our diets.  While trying to eat on a budget, I found that fish was falling by the wayside but its a healthy and delicious part of the diet, so in 2011 I vowed to bring the fishies back.  This week I found mahi mahi on special and it was SO GOOD.   We sauteed green peppers as a side and made rice and then used the marinade from the fish (cooked down of course) as a tasty sauce on everything.  MMM MM.  If you enjoy fish, this recipe is super easy and I would highly recommend it.

Chef J in action :)

Chef J in action!

Ginger glazed mahi mahi

I have to admit I really love cooking dinner with J.  Its one of my favorite ways in the world to spend time together.  Sometimes it seems like a hassle, but it always ends up being sooo worth it. 🙂

4 responses to this post.

  1. congrats on keeping your resolutions, I always have a tough time with that! And your mahi mahi look amazing 🙂

    http://www.itsanewkate.blogspot.com

    Reply

  2. That looks delicious! I need to eat more fish, too!

    Reply

  3. I don’t blame you for feeling less than motivated with so many things going on — I’m sorry you’ve been having a rough time and I do hope that everything gets better really soon! After all, a new year should bring joy and hope. 🙂

    The fish looks wonderful, and so does the rice and green beans!

    Reply

  4. That sounds great! I also have tons of cute clothing that I never wear because I am always reaching for jeans and a tshirt. It probably doesn’t help that I am always in a rush as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

